Yiddish for Beginners II

Beginners2new

This package includes eight sessions of a 90 min. language class, eight sessions of a 60 min. conversation class, and eight sessions of a 60 min. reading circle for beginner students.

Price: $350

The payment platform will show all of the dates on which the included activities will take place, feel free to choose any date for your registration.

To allow our students to have more flexibility, we also offer individual classes, scroll down to learn more about each class and register individually for each class and workshop if that is more suitable to you.

Let us awaken your Yiddish soul this summer!

Bio: Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

Intermediate Yiddish Class

Yiddish Class for Beginners 2

Teacher:  Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Time: Monday-Thursday, 10-11:30 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT, 6 p.m. in the U.K., 7 p.m. in most of Europe, 8 p.m. in Israel)

Description:

During these eight classes, we will cover the basics of Yiddish grammar: gender of nouns, verbs in the present tense, questions, negations, and other essentials. We will read a lot and learn the vocabulary that will allow you to speak about yourself, your family, hobbies, etc. We will play our own Yiddish "theatre" by reading simple dialogues. Apart from work in the classroom, you will receive homework to practice your writing skills. This course is for students who already know the alef-beys and simple phrases like “hello, my name is…” The language of instruction is English. The course will be intensive indeed but the result will be worth it – you will significantly improve your Yiddish and receive the necessary tools to continue learning. 

Shmues (Conversation) Class for Beginners 2

Teacher: Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Time: Monday-Thursday, 12-1 p.m. PDT (3 p.m. EDT, 8 p.m. in the U.K., 9 p.m. in most of Europe, 10 p.m. in Israel)

Description: In this shmues course, everybody will get a chance to have their first long conversations in Yiddish and to learn how to actively use the vocabulary and grammar acquired in the 90 min. classes. This course is for you if you already know the alef-beys and simple phrases like “hello, my name is…” We will discuss such topics as family, professions, weather, etc. A special session will be dedicated to hobbies, in particular theatre. You will improve your speaking skills and understanding of oral Yiddish speech, and enrich your vocabulary. The language of instruction is English. It will be intensive indeed but the result will be worth it – you will significantly improve your Yiddish conversational skills.  

Katya

Bio: Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

Teacher: Dave Fried

Bio: Dave Fried is a dedicated Yiddishist living in Chicago. He has learned Yiddish in Vilna, Lithuania as well as New York. He has been teaching Yiddish for almost two years – with a special focus on welcoming newcomers to the language. While not knee deep in Yiddish, he likes bike rides, cold noodles and Jewish punk rock.

 

Leyenkrayz (Reading Circle) for Beginners 2

Teacher: Dave Fried

Time: Monday-Thursday, 3:30-4:30 p.m. PDT (6:30 p.m. EDT, 11:30 p.m. in the U.K., 12:30 a.m. in most of Europe, 1:30 a.m. in Israel)

Description: This reading group is for those who are still new to reading Yiddish, but have already a little bit of experience. We will read chapters from “Yidishe kinder - beys”, as well as selected poems and short stories. We still read at a slow pace and there will be plenty of time for questions. To ensure a heymish (cozy) atmosphere, we aim to keep the class size small! Space is limited.