Shmues for Advanced Students

 

Monday-Thursday, starting on October 4th.

Time: 12 p.m.-1 p.m. PDT (3 p.m. EDT, 8 p.m. in the U.K., 9 p.m. in most of Europe, 10 p.m. in Israel)

advanced_classes_package
Miriam Isaacs

Miriam Isaacs

Miriam Isaacs is a scholar, writer, translator, and educator specializing in Yiddish language and culture. She is a native Yiddish speaker and has taught Yiddish courses at the University of Maryland and lectured internationally. Dr. Isaacs has given lectures and workshops for Yiddish New York, UC Berkeley, the Library of Congress, the Jewish Genealogical Society, among others.

 

About the course

In this eight session advanced shmues course, students will first read poems by Yiddish poet and short story writer Rokhl Korn (1898-1986), and then discuss the various contexts in which she wrote these poems, including the history of Poland, the USSR, and Sweden. In the latter sessions, students will practice gossiping in colloquial Yiddish using folk expressions. Students will also talk about Yiddish theater. We will learn about the origins of the purimshpil, dramas of the haskalah, Avrom Goldfadn, shund, Jacob Gordin, art theater, Soviet Yiddish theater, and comedy. This class will be conducted entirely in Yiddish.

Price:  General Admission-$125, Early Bird-$100 (Sales end on Sep 20, 2021), Student Discount (with valid ID)-$90 (Sales end on Sep 20, 2021).