Advanced leyenkrayz: Socialism in Yiddish Literature

Sundays, (starting on Sunday, May 2) at 8:00 a.m. PDT (11:00 a.m. EDT, 4:00 p.m. in the U.K. 5:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 6:00 p.m. in Israel)

In this 5-session, 90-min advanced leyenkrayz, we will read Yiddish literary texts about socialism written by authors who represent different generations and different regions - Poland, Ukraine, Belarus, Germany and America. We will get familiarized with various literary styles, from realism and social-realism to expressionism and modernism, in poetry, drama, and in prose. Among the writers featured are Avrom Reyzen, Izi Kharik, Dovid Bergelson, and Sholem Ash. This reading circle will be conducted in Yiddish.

Instructor: Alina Polonskaya.  A PhD student of Hasidism at Bar Ilan University in Israel, Alina lives in Jerusalem. She studied Yiddish literature at the MEDEM Library in Paris, and is  a contributing editor to the Yiddish-Russian dictionary of Soldatov. She is currently teaching Yiddish at the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy.

Cost: A 5-class package for $90 or $18 for individual classes.

‎⁨תמונה ביום 22.3.2019 ובשעה 10.39⁩
in order to register for the 5-class package, feel free to choose any date from the list.