Shmues for Beginners 2

The special summer "Zumer-lebn" Yiddish conversation class (for Beginners II and Intermediate students).

Sundays, starting on June 27th. 

10:00 a.m. PDT (1:00 p.m. EDT, 6:00 p.m. in the U.K., 7:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 8:00 p.m. in Israel).

Katya

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

Course Details

For many of us, summer is the time for relaxation and rest, when we go to sunny beaches and chill out with family and friends. That is why this 6-sessions course will be full of summer topics: vacations, leisure, summer activities, locations for holidays. We will read and discuss short fragments from Sholem Aleichem's "summer novels" to get inspiration from the Yiddish classic. We will play many word games and listen to Yiddish songs.

The grammar material of the course is aimed to repeat the basics: different prepositions, conjugations of nouns and adjectives, present, past, and future tenses of verbs.

The language of instruction is Yiddish (English if needed).

Cost: $17 per class or a 6-session package for $90.