Yidish fun breyshis: Let’s Learn the Yiddish Alphabet Together

Thursdays (starting on July 29) at 12:00 p.m. PDT (2 p.m. CDT, 3 p.m EDT, 8 p.m. in the U.K., 9 p.m. in most of Europe, 10 p.m. in Israel)

Each class is 90 minutes long.

Instructor: Avi Fried

Scroll down for more details!

5h2veb
dave_fried

Avi Fried

He is a dedicated Yiddishist living in Chicago. He has learned Yiddish in Vilna, Lithuania as well as New York. He has been teaching Yiddish for almost two years – with a special focus on welcoming newcomers to the language. While not knee deep in Yiddish, he likes bike rides, cold noodles and Jewish punk rock.

About the course

This class aims to teach literacy –the ability to read Yiddish in Yiddish.

We will start with the vowels of the alef-bet and add consonants each week. By the end of the first class, the student will be able to read a number of words and phrases in Yiddish. Each week, our knowledge will build upon the previous week’s material, to reinforce our learning and build confidence. We will also learn through culture, idioms, jokes, curses, and, of course, songs.

Be prepared for a lot of Simpsons gifs. This is a 100% no-judgment, no-attitude, no-shaming classroom environment, and we take a light and easy approach to learning Yiddish.

* Though some elements of grammar and style will be touched on, that is not the focus of this class and we will not go beyond the beginner level.

Cost: $75 for the series (6 classes), scholarships available, please contact info@yaaana.com for more information.

When: Thursdays (starting on Thursday, July 29, 12:00 p.m. PDT(2:00 p.m. CDT, 3:00 p.m. EDT, 8:00 p.m. in the U.K., 9:00 p.m. in Central Europe, 10:00 p.m. in Israel.

Teacher: Avi Fried